Jocelyne Saab Retrospective. Lecture by Mathilde Rouxel about UNE VIE SUSPENDUE

Once Upon a Time in Beirut – Jocelyne Saab Retrospective

Lecture by Mathilde Rouxel on Jocelyne Saab in the context of female filmmaking in the Middle East since the 1970s.

15.4.2018 at the DFF cinema.

On April 30 2018, Lebanese artist Jocelyne Saab, a pioneer of female filmmaking in the Middle East and cinéma engagé, celebrated her 70th birthday. Together with the Filmkollektiv Frankfurt e.V., the DFF is taking this anniversary as an opportunity to dedicate its first comprehensive retrospective of the filmmaker in Germany.

Born in Beirut in 1948, Saab studied economics in Paris, her second place of residence. In the early 1970s she began her career as a journalist and war reporter, among others for French television, in almost all crisis areas of the time. This resulted in a large number of documentaries in which Saab soon developed a personal style that moved more and more towards essay films. In 1981 she was assistant director to Volker Schlöndorff for his Beirut film DIE FÄLSCHUNG (BRD/FR 1981). In 1985 she presented her feature film debut ADOLESCENTE, SUCRE D’AMOUR (LB/FR/CA 1985) at the Cannes Film Festival.

Saab is a passionate cineaste: in the early 1990s she initiated a project to rebuild the Lebanese film archive and directed the “Resistance Film Festival” in several Lebanese cities between 2012 and 2014.

Film: UNE VIE SUSPENDUE Samars First Love
Lebanon/France/Canada 1985 R: Jocelyne Saab
D: Jacques Weber, Hala Bassam, Juliet Berto. 90 min. 35mm. OmU

The 14-year-old Samar lives in a Beirut whose streets have been destroyed by civil war and are permeated by an atmosphere of resigned melancholy. One day she meets the older painter Karim, who, disillusioned by life, dedicates himself solely to his art. A tender love story develops between the two. Saab’s feature film debut premiered in Cannes in 1985 as ADOLESCENTE, SUCRE D’AMOUR. On the advice of Volker Schlöndorff and his editor Suzanne Baron, Saab reworked the film after its premiere – for financial reasons directly in the film copies. We show the cinema version entitled UNE VIE SUSPENDUE.

Cart

Werkschau Jocelyne Saab. Lecture von Mathilde Rouxel zu UNE VIE SUSPENDUE

Es war einmal Beirut – Werkschau Jocelyne Saab

Kurzvortrag von Mathilde Rouxel (Filmwissenschaftlerin) über Jocelyne Saab im Kontext des weiblichen Filmschaffens im Nahen Osten seit den 1970er Jahren

Veranstaltung im Kino des DFF, 15.4.2018

„Früher war mein Land ein wunderschöner Garten – Gärten gibt es hier heute keine mehr. Ich habe versucht, die Kultur, die wir früher hatten, wiederzubeleben. Darin besteht meine Ablehnung der Realität. Und aus diesem Grund fordere ich die Menschen auf, zu träumen.“ (Jocelyne Saab, 2012)

Am 30. April feiert die libanesische Künstlerin Jocelyne Saab, eine Pionierin weiblichen Filmemachens im Nahen Osten und des cinéma engagé, ihren 70. Geburtstag. Gemeinsam mit dem Filmkollektiv Frankfurt e.V. nimmt das Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums dieses Jubiläum zum Anlass, um ihr eine erste umfassende Werkschau in Deutschland zu widmen. Jocelyne Saab wird persönlich an drei Tagen in Frankfurt über ihr Filmschaffen sprechen.

1948 in Beirut geboren, studierte Saab Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Paris, ihrem zweiten Wohnort. In den frühen 1970er Jahren begann ihre Tätigkeit als Journalistin und Kriegsreporterin, unter anderem für das französische Fernsehen, in fast allen Krisengebieten der Zeit. So entstand eine Vielzahl von Dokumentationen, in denen Saab bald einen persönlichen Stil entwickelte, der sich immer mehr zum Essayfilm hin bewegte. 1981 war sie Regieassistentin Volker Schlöndorffs bei seinem in Beirut gedrehten Film DIE FÄLSCHUNG (BRD/FR 1981). 1985 präsentierte sie bei den Filmfestspielen in Cannes ihr Spielfilmdebüt ADOLESCENTE, SUCRE D’AMOUR (LB/FR/CA 1985).

Saab ist leidenschaftliche Cineastin: Anfang der 1990er Jahre initiierte sie ein Projekt zum Wiederaufbau des libanesischen Filmarchivs und leitete zwischen 2012 und 2014 das „Resistance Film Festival“ in mehreren libanesischen Städten.

Film: UNE VIE SUSPENDUE Samars erste Liebe
Libanon/Frankreich/Kanada 1985. R: Jocelyne Saab
D: Jacques Weber, Hala Bassam, Juliet Berto. 90 Min. 35mm. OmU

Die 14-jährige Samar lebt in einem Beirut, dessen Straßen vom Bürgerkrieg zerstört und von einer Atmosphäre der resignativen Melancholie durchzogen sind. Eines Tages begegnet sie dem älteren Maler Karim, der sich, vom Leben desillusioniert, einzig seiner Kunst widmet. Zwischen ihnen entwickelt sich eine zarte Liebesgeschichte. Saabs Spielfilmdebüt wurde 1985 in Cannes als ADOLESCENTE, SUCRE D’AMOUR uraufgeführt. Auf Anraten Volker Schlöndorffs und seiner Cutterin Suzanne Baron überarbeitete Saab den Film nach der Premiere – aus finanziellen Gründen direkt in den Filmkopien. Wir zeigen die UNE VIE SUSPENDUE betitelte Kinofassung.

Warenkorb