VICTOR-E

Victor-E_header

The European research project “VICTOR-E: Visual Culture of Trauma, Obliteration and Reconstruction in Post-WW II Europe“, which was launched in May 2019 and runs for 3 years, examines the debate on reconstruction in post-1945 Europe using newsreels and documentary films from the years 1949 to 1953. The hypothesis on which the project is based is that these films not only presented the development, but also made a massive contribution, since in democracy public spaces are of central importance, and thus also their presentation in the media.

Coordinated by the Goethe University (Frankfurt/Main), research institutions in Italy, France and the Czech Republic are also participating in the EU-funded project. Associated partners of VICTOR-E are film archives from the same countries, including the DFF, which will give access to their holdings and collections to the researchers and – where legally possible – digitise parts of them and/or make them available online.

In addition to making selected films available via the online portal europeanfilmgateway.eu, operated by the Association of European film archives and cinematheques, ACE, a key result of VICTOR-E will be a specially created virtual exhibition that will present research results and contextualise films – for example with the help of interviews with contemporary witnesses. Both, the films and the virtual exhibition are expected to go online towards the end of the project, probably at the beginning of 2022.

Frankfurt is an ideal location for this film studies research: The city on the Main River was badly destroyed, and debates about reconstruction vs a new beginning have been held here as in few other cities in Europe. The research focuses on public places such as the city hall Römer in Frankfurt, marketplaces or politically relevant squares. Both formal and substantive aspects will be investigated: How many aerial photographs are there? Can recurring elements be identified? Are there symbols that recur in the debate? What effect has the film reporting and documentation had on the debate? And what are the differences and similarities of those debates and films between the various European countries?

Contact DFF

Julia Welter
Email: welter@dff.film

Project Coordination Goethe University

Jana Albrecht
Phone: +49 (0)69 – 798-32077
Email: albrecht@tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Links

Project Website: www.victor-e.eu
Project Information: heranet.info
www.europeanfilmgateway.eu

Victor-E wird gefördet vom HERA Joint Research Programme,

VICTOR-E is funded by the HERA Joint Research Programme which is co-funded by BMBF via DLR-PT, CAS, ANR, MIUR and the European Commission through Horizon 2020.

Cart

VICTOR-E

Victor-E_header

Das auf drei Jahre angelegte und im Mai 2019 gestartete europäische Forschungsprojekt „VICTOR-E: Visual Culture of Trauma, Obliteration and Reconstruction in Post-WW II Europe“ (Visuelle Kultur des Traumas, der Zerstörung und des Wiederaufbaus im Nachkriegs-Europa) untersucht die Debatte um den Wiederaufbau in Europa nach 1945 anhand von Wochenschauen und Dokumentarfilmen der Jahre 1949 bis 1953. Die Hypothese von der das Projekt dabei ausgeht ist, dass diese Filme nicht nur präsentierten, sondern einen massiven Beitrag geleistet haben, da in der Demokratie den öffentlichen Räumen eine zentrale Bedeutung zu komme, und damit auch ihrer medialen Präsentation.

Unter Leitung der Goethe-Universität (Frankfurt/Main) nehmen an dem von der EU finanzierten Projekt auch Forschungseinrichtungen in Italien, Frankreich und Tschechien teil.  Assozierte Partner von VICTOR-E sind Filmarchive aus den genannten Ländern, darunter das DFF, die ihre Bestände und Sammlungen für das Forschungsvorhaben öffnen und – wo rechtlich möglich – in Teilen digitalsieren und/oder online verfügbar machen werden.

Ein zentrales Resultat von VICTOR-E wird neben der Verfügbarmachung ausgewählter Filme über das vom europäischen Kinemathekenverbund ACE betriebene Online-Portal europeanfilmgateway.eu auch eine speziell erstellte Virtuelle Ausstellung sein, die Rechercheergebnisse präsentiert und Filme – etwa mit Hilfe von Zeitzeugeninterviews – kontextualisiert. Sowohl die Filme als auch die Virtuelle Ausstellung werden gegen Projektende, voraussichtlich Anfang 2022, online gehen.

Frankfurt bietet sich als zentraler Standort für diese filmwissenschaftliche Forschung geradezu an: Die Stadt am Main war stark zerstört, und um Wiederaufbau oder Neuanfang gab und gibt es hier Debatten wie in kaum einer anderen Stadt in Europa. Im Fokus der Forschung stehen öffentliche Plätze wie der Römer in Frankfurt, Marktplätze oder politisch relevante Plätze. Untersucht werden sollen sowohl formale als auch inhaltliche Aspekte: Wie viele Luftaufnahmen gibt es? Sind wiederkehrende Elemente festzustellen? Gibt es Symbole, die immer wieder in der Debatte auftauchen? Welche Wirkung hat die filmische Berichterstattung und Dokumentation auf die Debatte gehabt? Und wo liegen Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen den verschiedenen europäischen Ländern?

Kontakt DFF

Julia Welter
Tel.: +49 (0)69 961 220 – 621
E-Mail: welter@dff.film

Projektkoordination Goethe-Universität

Jana Albrecht
Tel.: +49 (0)69 – 798-32077
E-Mail: albrecht@tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Links

Projektwebsite: www.victor-e.eu
Projektinformation: heranet.info
Portal: www.europeanfilmgateway.eu

Victor-E wird gefördet vom HERA Joint Research Programme, das vom BMBF über DLR-PT, CAS, ANR, MIUR und die Europäische Kommission im Rahmen von Horizon 2020 kofinanziert ist.

Warenkorb