Visual History of the Holocaust

Rethinking Curation in the Digital Age

The Visual History of the Holocaust (VHH) project breaks new ground in the digitization, indexing and curating of film, text and audio materials on the Holocaust. It is primarily concerned with film documents that were produced during the liberation of the concentration and extermination camps by the Allies. Since the National Socialist crimes were unprecedented in their extent and cruelty, the Allied armies recorded testimonies and traces of the Shoah in order to use them as evidence in later war crimes trials. Individual motifs from the film material circulate as now iconic images in documentaries, feature films, and popular culture, though largely detached from the context of their creation. Large parts of the filmed material, however, which is kept in the archives of Great Britain, the USA, Russia and the countries of the former Soviet Union, are still largely unknown to the public.

In the VHH project, the digitized film material will be indexed, annotated and contextualized according to scientific criteria. On this basis, curated access for different user groups will be offered via an online environment set up in the course of the project.

The VHH project is coordinated by the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Digital History, Vienna and the Austrian Film Museum, Vienna. The DFF is one of thirteen partners in the international project consortium, which includes universities, memorial sites and archives. Launched in January 2019, the project will run for four years and is funded by the EU Horizon2020 programme:

New launch of the database “Cinematography of the Holocaust”

As a partner in the Visual History of the Holocaust project, the DFF is creating the technical database for the indexing of the film material: Currently, the Cinematography of the Holocaust (CdH) – the most comprehensive filmographic resource on the Holocaust with almost 4,000 registered works – is being fully integrated into the Central Filmographic Database (ZDB) of the DFF in order to make it available for the VHH project. In addition, the DFF and the Fritz Bauer Institute in Frankfurt have decided, as part of a long-term cooperation agreement, to create a new website for the CdH and to jointly guarantee the future operation and expansion of the CdH. In doing so, the cooperation partners are continuing the fundamental work of film historian Ronny Loewy, who died in 2012 and who, as an employee of the Deutsches Filminstitut & Filmmuseum and the Fritz Bauer Institute, originally built up the cinematography of the Holocaust.

Logo

Contact DFF
Kerstin Herlt and David Kleingers
Phone: +49-69 961220-621
herlt@dff.film
kleingers@dff.film

Cart

Visual History of the Holocaust

Rethinking Curation in the Digital Age

Das Projekt Visual History of the Holocaust (VHH) beschreitet  neue Wege in der Digitalisierung, Erschließung und Kuratierung von Film-, Text und Audiomaterialien zum Holocaust. Dabei  geht es primär um filmische Dokumente, die bei der Befreiung der Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslagerlager durch die Alliierten entstanden sind. Da die nationalsozialistischen Verbrechen in Ausmaß und Grausamkeit beispiellos waren, hielten die alliierten Armeen  Zeugnisse und Spuren der Shoah fest, um sie in den späteren Kriegsverbrecherprozessen als Beweismittel zu verwenden. Einzelne Motive aus dem  filmischen Material  zirkulieren als mittlerweile ikonische Bilder in Dokumentationen, Spielfilmen und  in der  Populärkultur, allerdings weitgehend losgelöst vom Kontext ihrer Entstehung. Große Teile des gedrehten Materials, das in den Archiven Großbritanniens, der USA, Russlands und den Ländern der ehemaligen Sowjetunion bewahrt wird, sind der Öffentlichkeit hingegen bis heute weitgehend unbekannt.

Im VHH-Projekt werden die digitalisierten Filmmaterialien  nach wissenschaftlichen Kriterien erschlossen, annotiert und kontextualisiert. Davon ausgehend werden über eine im Zuge des Projekts aufgebaute Online-Umgebung kuratierte Zugänge für unterschiedliche Nutzergruppen angeboten.

Das VHH-Projekt wird  vom Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Digital History, Wien und dem Österreichischen Filmmuseum, Wien koordiniert. Das DFF ist einer von dreizehn Partnern im internationalen Projektkonsortium, zu dem Universitäten, Gedenkstätten und Archive gehören. Das  im Januar 2019 gestartete Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von vier Jahren und wird durch das  EU Programm Horizon2020 gefördert: www.vhh-project.eu

Neuauftritt der Datenbank „Cinematographie des Holocaust“

Als Partner im Projekt Visual History of the Holocaust  schafft das DFF die datentechnischen Grundlagen für die Erschließung des filmischen Materials: Aktuell wird die  Cinematographie des Holocaust (CdH) – mit knapp 4.000 verzeichneten Werken die umfassendste filmografische Ressource  zum Holocaust – vollständig in die Zentrale Filmografische Datenbank (ZDB) des DFF integriert, um sie so für das VHH Projekt  verfügbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus haben das DFF und das Fritz Bauer Institut in Frankfurt im Zuge einer langfristigen  Kooperationsvereinbarung beschlossen, einen neuen Webauftritt für die CdH zu realisieren und gemeinsam den zukünftigen Betrieb und Ausbau der CdH zu gewährleisten. Damit knüpfen die Kooperationspartner an die grundlegende Arbeit  des 2012 verstorbenen Filmhistoriker Ronny Loewy an, der als Mitarbeiter des Deutschen Filminstituts & Filmmuseums  und des Fritz Bauer Instituts die Cinematographie des Holocaust ursprünglich aufgebaut hat.

Logo

Projektkoordination DFF:
Kerstin Herlt und David Kleingers
Tel: +49-69 961220-621
herlt@dff.film
kleingers@dff.film

Warenkorb