Chantal Akerman. Lecture by Eric de Kuyper about LA CAPTIVE

The Inventor of Forms. The Cinema of Chantal Akerman

»To rephrase a novel, to write a film« Lecture by Eric de Kuyper.

01.11.2018 at the DFF cinema.

The experience of writing was an essential part of filmmaking for Chantal Akerman. She was inspired by novels by Isaac Bashevis Singer, Colette, Patricia Highsmith, Joseph Conrad and Marcel Proust. Her approach to the written word has always been a challenge for her work as a filmmaker. The Proust film LA CAPTIVE from 2000 is an example of this.

Eric de Kuyper is co-author of several films by Chantal Akerman, such as LA CAPTIVE and DEMAIN ON DÉMÉNAGE. He is a writer and filmmaker and was also Professor of Film Studies at the University of Nijmegen and Deputy Director of the Nederlands Filmmuseum. Most recently, he made a six-hour film about a choreography by Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker.

The script by Chantal Akerman and Eric de Kuyper is based on “The Prisoner”, the 5th volume of “In Search of Lost Time” by Marcel Proust. The film tells the story of Simon and his lover Ariane. Simon is of a weak nature and rarely leaves his own four walls. His grandmother also needs constant care, and his relationship with Ariane is also burdened by Simon’s nature. One of the strongest Proust readings in film history.

Film: LA CAPTIVE
France, Belgium 2000
Director: Chantal Akerman

www.chantal-akerman.de

Cart

Chantal Akerman. Lecture von Eric de Kuyper zu LA CAPTIVE

Die Erfinderin der Formen. Das Kino von Chantal Akerman

»Einen Roman umschreiben, einen Film schreiben« Lecture von Eric de Kuyper in englischer Sprache

Aufzeichnung der Veranstaltung vom 01.11.2018 im Kino des DFF

Die Erfahrung des Schreibens war für Chantal Akerman ein essentieller Bestandteil des Filmemachens. Sie ließ sich inspirieren von Romanen von Isaac Bashevis Singer, Colette, Patricia Highsmith, Joseph Conrad und Marcel Proust. Ihr Zugang zum geschriebenen Wort war immer zugleich eine Herausforderung für ihre Arbeit als Filmemacherin. Die Proust-Verfilmung LA CAPTIVE von 2000 ist dafür ein Beispiel.

Eric de Kuyper ist Ko-Autor mehrerer Filme von Chantal Akerman, wie LA CAPTIVE und DEMAIN ON DÉMÉNAGE. Er ist Schriftsteller und Filmemacher und war überdies Professor für Filmwissenschaft an der Universität Nijmegen und stellvertretender Direktor des Nederlands Filmmuseum. Jüngst realisierte er einen sechsstündigen Film rund um eine Choreographie von Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker.

Das Drehbuch von Chantal Akerman und Eric de Kuyper beruht auf „Die Gefangene“, dem 5. Band von „Auf der Suche nach der verlorenen Zeit“ von Marcel Proust. Der Film erzählt die Geschichte von Simon und seiner Geliebten Ariane. Simon ist von schwächlicher Natur und verlässt nur selten die eigenen vier Wände. Seine Großmutter bedarf zudem ständiger Fürsorge, und auch die Beziehung zu Ariane wird durch Simons Wesen belastet. Eine der stärksten Proust-Lektüren der Filmgeschichte.

Film: LA CAPTIVE
Frankreich, Belgien 2000
R: Chantal Akerman

Das vollständige Programm der Lecture & Film-Reihe finden Sie hier: http://chantal-akerman.de/

Warenkorb