Talk with Bill Morrison about DAWSON CITY: FROZEN TIME

SPECIAL: Bill Morrison

Talk about DAWSON CITY: FROZEN TIME (2017) with Bernd Herzogenrath and Sonia Campanini

22.01.2019 at the DFF cinema

Bill Morrison is a New York-based filmmaker and artist. His films often combine rare archive material with contemporary music and have been shown in theaters, cinemas, museums, galleries and concert halls around the world. The work of Morrison, a trained painter, reflects his deep and enduring preoccupation with celluloid painting.

DAWSON CITY: FROZEN TIME tells the story of a collection of 533 films from the 1910s to 1920s. Film screenings have taken place since the beginning of the 20th century in Dawson City, northern Canada, and soon the city became the last stop in a distribution chain that sent prints and newsreels to Yukon territory. The films were rarely, if ever, returned. By an incredible coincidence, many of the films remained buried in permafrost deep in Yukon territory for more than 50 years. The now famous Dawson City Collection was discovered in 1978 when a new leisure centre was built and a bulldozer dug out the film spools. The film consists entirely of found material from the collection.

Based on his artistic practice, Bill Morrison discussed his approach and work with film archive materials: archive films and their material composition act as a narrative force in Morrison’s works and become protagonists of cinematic narrative and representation.

In cooperation with:
Goethe University Frankfurt Institute for English and American Studies and Institute for Theatre, Film and Media Studies

Cart

Werkstattgespräch mit Bill Morrison zu DAWSON CITY: FROZEN TIME

SPECIAL: Bill Morrison

Werkstattgespräch zu DAWSON CITY: FROZEN TIME (2017) mit Bernd Herzogenrath und Sonia Campanini

Aufzeichnung der Veranstaltung vom 22.01.2019 im Kino des DFF

Bill Morrison ist ein in New York lebender Filmemacher und Künstler. Seine Filme kombinieren oft seltenes Archivmaterial mit zeitgenössischer Musik und wurden in Theatern, Kinos, Museen, Galerien und Konzertsälen auf der ganzen Welt gezeigt. Das Werk von Morrison, der ausgebildeter Maler ist, spiegelt dessen tiefe und anhaltende Beschäftigung mit dem Zelluloidbild wider.

DAWSON CITY: FROZEN TIME erzählt die Geschichte einer Sammlung von 533 Filmen aus den 1910er bis 1920er Jahren. Seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts fanden im nordkanadischen Dawson City Filmvorführungen statt, und bald wurde die Stadt zur letzten Station einer Vertriebskette, die Prints und Wochenschauen in das Yukon-Territorium schickte. Die Filme wurden selten, wenn überhaupt, zurückgegeben. Durch einen schier unglaublichen Zufall blieben viele der Filme mehr als 50 Jahre im Permafrost tief im Yukon-Territorium begraben. Die heute berühmte Dawson City Collection wurde 1978 entdeckt, als ein neues Freizeitzentrum gebaut wurde und ein Bulldozer die Filmspulen ausgrub. Der Film besteht zur Gänze aus vorgefundenem Material aus der Sammlung.

Ausgehend von seiner künstlerischen Praxis erörterte Bill Morrison seine Herangehensweise und Arbeit mit Filmarchivmaterialien: Archiv-­Filme und deren materielle Beschaffenheit wirken in Morrisons Werken als narrative Wirkkraft und werden Hauptfiguren der filmischen Erzählung und Darstellung.

In Kooperation mit:
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt Institut für England- und Amerikastudien und Institut für Theater- Film- und Medienwissenschaften

Warenkorb