Current exhibition:
Digital Revolution

Digital Revolution

Exhibition until 10th of November 2019

Come and enter the Digital Revolution time machine that will unveil to you the transformations that have been taking place over the last fifty years all over the world. Games, films, design, music videos, computers, phones, and so many other media have become, to a greater or lesser extent, part of our lives. They have redefined art, communication and our perception. From the 1970s to today, from the arcade game Pong (1972) to the film GRAVITY (Alfonso Cuarón, 2013). Here in the Digital Revolution you can interact, touch, play and create. This exhibition invites you to look at and reflect on our digital past, present and future with some of its major milestones.

On show are both early digital technology – be it the Apple 2 8-bit computer (1977-1993) or groundbreaking examples of electronic music devices such as the Fairlight CMI (1979) – as well as artistic confrontations with the possibilities of the digital, such as interactive online games and the installation Escape III, for which disused mobile phones were transformed into bird sculptures. A large part of the exhibited objects is designed for playing, touching and trying out, so that visitors can experience the effect and aesthetics for themselves.

Digital Revolution. Foto: Uwe Dettmar.

Film in particular has been strongly influenced by digital technologies since the 1970s: the focus is on our way of telling stories, image design and the democratisation of production processes.

Digital Revolution. Foto: Uwe Dettmar.

Plan Your Visit

Opening Hours

Digital Revolution is on show from 4th of June through 10th of November 2019 at DFF.

  • Tuesday – Thursday: 10:00 – 18:00
  • Friday: 10:00 – 20:00
  • Saturday and Sunday: 10:00 – 18:00
  • Mondays closed

Tickets & Admissions

Adults: 10 €
Reduced: 8 €

Combined ticket: Permanent Exhibition + Digital Revolution
Adults: 13 €
Reduced: 10 €

Combined Family Ticket
22 €
(Permanent Exhibition + Digital Revolution for 2 adults and up to 4 children over the age of six)

Accessibility: The DFF is accessible for visitors with restricted mobility and for guests with strollers via an elevator at the museum’s right-hand side entrance. Elevators in the foyer provide barrier-free access to all exhibition floors (1st-3rd floor), the cinema in the basement and the film workshop and workshop rooms on the 4th floor. Accessible toilets can be found on the 4th floor and in the basement. We provide a wheelchair if needed.

Accompanying Programme, Guided Tours, Film Series

Guided Tours

Open guided tours:
Every Saturday at 15:00 (included in the admission fee for the exhibition)

Filmmuseum after work:
Every second Friday of the month at 19:00
Guided tour and wine
Find out more…

Guided tours for private parties or schoo, classes
Booking required
Phone: +49 (0)69 961220 – 223
Email: museumspaedagogik@dff.film

Accompanying programme

Film and Talk
Thursday, 24th of October at 20:15

PRE-CRIME
DE 2017. Directors: Monika Hielscher, Matthias Heeder
Documentary film. 91 mins. DCP.

Science fiction that has become reality: Predictive policing is a software based on big data such as buying behaviour, movement patterns and social contacts that predicts when and where crimes will be committed. The method is already being put to use in London, Chicago and Munich. PRE-CRIME investigates the question of how the desire for absolute security is related to the erosion of the presumption of innocence and how reliable the judgment of algorithms is.

The human geographer Till Straube, the sociologist Vanessa E. Thompson (both Goethe University, Frankfurt) and computer scientist and activist Miguel Ayala (copwatchffm) will introduce the film and discuss it with the audience.

“Petting Zoo”: An Installation by the London Design Studio Minimaforms

“Petting Zoo” is the name of the installation that visitors see first when they enter our museum. The artificially intelligent creatures can use cameras to locate people and recognize activities. By collecting data in their interaction with visitors, they learn different behaviours and develop their own personalities.

“Petting Zoo” is a project by the experimental architecture and design firm Minimaforms, founded in 2002 in London by the brothers Theodore and Stephen Spyropoulos. Minimaforms works at the interface of art, architecture and design and artistically explores the possibilities of new forms of communication. Click here for an interview with Minimaforms.

Minimaforms (Theodore und Stephen Spyropoulos)

Films

To accompany the exhibition ‘Digital Revolution’, we offer a special film series at the DFF cinema. Find out more about the screenings here.

Gravity

Thanks & Imprint

Cart

Aktuelle Sonderausstellung:
Digital Revolution

Digital Revolution

Ausstellung vom 4. Juni bis 20. Oktober 2019

Reisen Sie mit der Zeitmaschine Digital Revolution in die vergangenen 50 Jahre internationale Digitalgeschichte: die Entwicklungen bei Spielen, Filmen, Musikvideos, Computern, Telefonen und vielen anderen Medien sind Teil unseres Lebens – und des Lebens von Künstler/innen – geworden. Sie haben Kunst, Kommunikation und unsere Wahrnehmung neu definiert. Von den 70er Jahren bis heute, vom Arcade-Spiel Pong (1972) bis zum Film GRAVITY (US/GB 2013, Alfonso Cuarón). Hier, in Digital Revolution, können Sie spielen, berühren und gestalten. Die Ausstellung lädt Sie ein, digitale Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft zu betrachten.

Zu sehen sind sowohl frühe digitale Technik – sei es der Apple 2 8-Bit-Computer (1977-1993) oder bahnbrechende Beispiele elektronischer Musikgeräte wie der Fairlight CMI (1979) – ebenso wie künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen mit den Möglichkeiten des Digitalen. Entdecken Sie interaktive Online-Spiele und staunen Sie über die Installation Escape III, in der ausgediente Handys zu Vogelskulpturen umgestaltet wurden. Ein großer Teil der ausgestellten Objekte ist zum Spielen, Anfassen und Ausprobieren angelegt, so dass das Publikum Wirkung und Ästhetik selbst erfahren kann.

Digital Revolution. Foto: Uwe Dettmar.

Gerade der Film ist durch digitale Technologien seit den 1970er Jahren stark beeinflusst worden: unsere Art, Geschichten zu erzählen, die Bildgestaltung und die Demokratisierung der Produktionsprozesse stehen im Mittelpunkt.

Digital Revolution. Foto: Uwe Dettmar.

Ihr Besuch

Öffnungszeiten

Digital Revolution ist vom 4. Juni bis zum 20. Oktober 2019 im DFF zu sehen.

  • Dienstag – Donnerstag: 10 – 18
  • Freitag: 10 – 20 Uhr
  • Samstag und Sonntag: 10 – 18 Uhr
  • Montag geschlossen

Tickets & Preise

Erwachsene: 10 €
Ermäßigt: 8 €

Kombi-Ticket Dauerausstellung + Digital Revolution
Erwachsene: 13 €
Ermäßigt: 10 € (Schüler/innen und Studierende – gilt nicht für Studierende der Universität des 3. Lebensalters U3L)

Kombi-Familienticket: 22 €
(2 Erwachsene und bis zu 4 Kinder über 6 Jahren)

Barrierefreiheit: Das DFF – Deutsches Filminstitut & Filmmuseum ist für bewegungseingeschränkte Besucher/innen sowie für Gäste mit Kinderwagen über einen Fahrstuhl am rechten Seiteneingang des Museums zugänglich. Durch Aufzüge im Foyer sind alle Ausstellungsetagen (1.-3. OG), das Kino im Untergeschoss sowie die Filmwerkstatt und Workshopräume im 4. OG barrierefrei zugänglich. Eine separate Behindertentoilette findet sich im Sockelgeschoss. Das Haus stellt einen Leihrollstuhl zur Verfügung.

Begleitprogramm, Führungen, Filmreihen

Führungen

Öffentliche Führungen:
Jeden Samstag um 15 Uhr
im Eintrittspreis inbegriffen

Filmmuseum after work:
Jeden 2. Freitag des Monats um 19 Uhr
Führung und Wein
Mehr erfahren…

Führungen für private Gruppen / Schulklassen:
Buchung unter
Telefon: +49 (0)69 961220 – 223
E-Mail: museumspaedagogik@dff.film

Begleitprogramm

„Talking About a Revolution“:
Rechtswissenschaft und Filmwissenschaft im Gespräch über KI und Kino
in Kooperation mit dem Exzellenzcluster Normative Orders

Freitag, 12. Juli, 18 Uhr
Können Roboter Autoren sein? Ein Gespräch über Copyright und KI rund um die Filme von Jan Bot
Mehr erfahren…

Dienstag, 16. Juli, 20:15 Uhr
Verzerrt das Kino KI? Ein Gespräch über Privatheit, IT-Vertrauen und Repräsentation anhand von THE CIRCLE
Mehr erfahren…

„Petting Zoo“: eine Installation des Londoner Designbüros Minimaforms

„Petting Zoo“, Streichelzoo, heißt die Installation, die die Besucher/innen am Eingang des Museums begrüßt. Die künstlich intelligenten Kreaturen können über Kameras Personen lokalisieren und Aktivitäten erkennen. Indem sie in der Interaktion mit den Besucher/innen Daten sammeln, erlernen sie verschiedene Verhaltensweisen und entwickeln so eigenständige Persönlichkeiten.

„Petting Zoo“ ist ein Projekt des experimentellen Architektur- und Designbüros Minimaforms, das die Brüder Theodore und Stephen Spyropoulos 2002 in London gegründet haben. Minimaforms arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Architektur und Design und erforscht auf künstlerischem Weg Möglichkeiten neuer Formen der Kommunikation. Hier geht es zum Interview mit Minimaforms.

Minimaforms (Theodore und Stephen Spyropoulos)

Filmreihe

Begleitend zur Ausstellung Digital Revolution zeigt das Kino des DFF eine Filmreihe. Termine und Filme finden Sie hier.

Gravity

Dank & Impressum

Warenkorb